FeaturesTV

Complete 2014 Midseason TV Premiere Dates List

The new year of television is officially kicking off tonight! It kind of snuck up on me, so it’s likely that it snuck on on some of you fair Invaders as well. Since we’re only a few hours away from brand spanking new television, I’ll keep this fairly brief. Check out my TV recommendations and the complete list of premiere dates below, for returning and new shows, and let us know in the comments what you’ll be watching this season!

New Show Recommendations:

Killer Women (ABC) – While the commercials seem to be focused on the fact that Modern Family’s Sofia Vergera is producing it, the actual plot of the show sounds intriguing. Plus, it stars Tricia Helfer (Six from Battlestar Galactica) so I’m already on board.

[youtube id=”hLdPeUeA2KU” width=”600″ height=”350″]

Helix (SyFy) – Speaking of Battlestar Galactica, that series creator is returning to television and SyFy with this horror/sci-fi show. The trailer had me on the edge of my seat, reminding me of the horror classic John Carpenter’s The Thing.

[youtube id=”oIthI2sKfu4″ width=”600″ height=”350″]

Returning Shows You Should Catch Up On:

Bates Motel (A&E) – This moody prequel to Alfred Hitchcock’s Psycho took a while to find its groove, but about halfway through season 1 I couldn’t stop watching. After letting it pile up on the DVR, I marathoned through its last story arc in a day and can’t wait for its return. Season 2 looks to have a lot of promise with added guest stars like Michael Vartan (Alias) and Kenny Johnson (Sons of Anarachy).

The Americans (FX) – There’s a reason this made our Best TV Shows of 2013 list.

midseason tv premiere dates list

The Mindy Project (Fox) – While this didn’t make the official Screen Invasion Best of TV list, it does top mine. This show week after week excels beyond its predecessor (New Girl) and has become so much more than its first season. And plus side for this one being on my list, you don’t actually need to watch all of it before the new episodes. It definitely took most of its first season to find its voice and make Mindy a annoying and likable character, so feel free to just jump to the beginning of this season or tune in live. 

The Complete 2014 Midseason TV Premiere Dates List:

Thursday, January 2
8pm – Community (NBC)
The Big Bang Theory (CBS)
The Taste
8:30pm – The Millers (CBS)
9pm – The Crazy Ones (CBS)
Sean Saves the World (NBC)
9:30pm – Two and a Half Men (CBS)
The Michael J. Fox Show (NBC)
10pm – Impractical Jokers (truTV)
The Assets (ABC) [Series Premiere]
Ridiculousness (MTV)
Parenthood (NBC)
Elementary (CBS)

Friday, January 3
9pm – Grimm (NBC)
10pm – Dracula (NBC)

Sunday, January 5
9pm – Downton Abbey (PBS)
The Good Wife (CBS)
Revenge (ABC)
10pm – The Mentalist (CBS)
Betrayal (ABC)

Monday, January 6
8pm – The Bachelor (ABC)
Cracked (Reelz)
Almost Human (Fox)
9pm – King (Reelz)
Single Ladies (VH1)
10pm – Teen Wolf (MTV)
Castle (ABC)
11pm – Wolf Watch (MTV)
12am – @midnight (Comedy Central)

New Girl

Tuesday, January 7
8pm – Dads (Fox)
Pretty Little Liars (ABC Family)
Marvel’s Agents of SHIELD (ABC)
NCIS (CBS)
8:30pm – Brooklyn Nine-Nine (Fox)
9pm – Ravenswood (ABC Family)
The Goldbergs (ABC)
Intelligence (CBS) [Series Premiere]
New Girl (Fox)
9:30pm – The Mindy Project (Fox)
Trophy Wife (ABC)
10pm – Being Marie Jane (BET)
Chicago Fire (NBC)
Cougar Town (TBS)
Justified (FX)
Killer Women (ABC) [Series Premiere]
Person of Interest (CBS)

Wednesday, January 8
8pm – Revolution (NBC)
The Middle (ABC)
9pm – Law & Order – SVU (NBC)
Modern Family (ABC)
Psych (USA)
9:30pm – Super Fun Night (ABC)
10pm – American Horror Story (FX)
Chicago PD (NBC) [Series Premiere]

Thursday, January 9
8:30pm – Parks and Recreation (NBC)
9pm – White Collar (USA)
10pm – The Spoils of Babylon (IFC)

Friday, January 10
8pm – Bones (Fox)
Undercover Boss (CBS)
9pm – Hawaii Five-0 (CBS)
9:30pm – Enlisted (Fox) [Series Premiere]
10pm – Banshee (Cinemax)
Blue Bloods (CBS)
Helix (Syfy) [Series Premiere]

Sunday, January 12
9pm – Shameless (Showtime)
True Detective (HBO) [Series Premiere]
10pm – Girls (HBO)
House of Lies (Showtime)
10:30pm – Episodes (Showtime)

Monday, January 13
8pm – Hart of Dixie (The CW)
How I Met Your Mother (CBS)
Lost Girl (Syfy)
Switched at Birth (ABC Family)
8:30pm – 2 Broke Girls (CBS)
9pm – The Fosters (ABC Family)
Being Human (Syfy)
Beauty and the Beast (The CW)
Sleepy Hollow (Fox)
Mike & Molly (CBS)
9:30pm – Mom (CBS)
10pm – Archer (FX)
Bitten (Syfy) [Series Premiere]
Don’t Trust Andrew Mayne (A&E) [Series Premiere]
The Blacklist (NBC)
Intelligence  (CBS)
10:30pm – Chozen (FX)

Sam-Dean-supernatural-16744488-1280-800

Tuesday, January 14
8pm – The Originals (The CW)
9pm – Face Off (Syfy)
Supernatural (The CW)
Friday Night Tykes (Esquire)
NCIS – LA(CBS)
10:30pm – Kroll Show (Comedy Central)

Wednesday, January 15
8pm – Arrow (The CW)
American Idol (Fox)
Melissa & Joey (ABC Family)
8:30pm – Baby Daddy (ABC Family)
Suburgatory (ABC)
9pm – The Tomorrow People (The CW)
Criminal Minds (CBS)
10pm – CSI (CBS)
Jim Rome (Showtime)
Men at Work (TBS)
Nashville (ABC)
Real World – Ex-Plosion (MTV)

Thursday, January 16
11pm – Rob Dyrdek’s Fantasy Factory (MTV)

Friday, January 17
9pm – Cold Justice (TNT)
10pm – APB with Troy Dunn (TNT)

Saturday, January 18
11:30pm – Saturday Night Live (NBC)

sherlock-season-3

Sunday, January 19
10pm – Sherlock (PBS)
10:30pm – Looking (HBO) [Series Premiere]

Monday, January 20
8pm – Hollywood Game Night (NBC)
9pm – Klondike (Discovery) [Series Premiere]

Tuesday, January 21
10pm – Opposite Worlds (Syfy) [Series Premiere]

Wednesday, January 22
9pm – Ghost Hunters (Syfy)
10pm – Workaholics (Comedy Central)
10:30pm – Broad City (Comedy Central) [Series Premiere]
Wahlburgers (A&E)  [Series Premiere]

Thursday, January 23
8pm – The Vampire Diaries (The CW)
9pm – Rake (Fox) [Series Premiere]
Reign (The CW)
10pm – King of the Nerds (TBS)

Saturday, January 25
9pm – Black Sails (Starz) [Series Premiere]

Tuesday, January 28
10pm – The Capones (Reelz)

Wednesday, January 29
10pm – Fleming – The Man Who Would Be Bond (BBC America) [Series Premiere]

 

FEBRUARY

Monday, February 3
11pm – Inside Comedy (Showtime)

Sunday, February 9
9pm – The Walking Dead (AMC)

Tuesday, February 11
9pm – Twisted (ABC Family)

Friday, February 14
12 am – House of Cards (Netflix)

Monday, February 17
8pm – Star-Crossed (The CW) [Series Premiere]
11:35pm – The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon (NBC)

Tuesday, February 18
10pm – Tosh.0 (Comedy Central)

Monday, February 24 
8pm – The Voice (NBC)
9pm – Dallas (TNT)
10pm – Private Lives of Nashville Wives (TNT)
12:35am – Late Night With Seth Meyers (NBC) [Series Premiere]

Tuesday, February 25
8pm – Glee (Fox)
9pm – Rizzoli & Isles (TNT)
10pm – Perception (TNT)

Are you ready to see Felicity like this?

Wednesday, February 26
9:30pm – Mixology (ABC) [Series Premiere]
10pm – Nashville (ABC)
The Americans (FX)

Thursday, February 27
9pm – Grey’s Anatomy (ABC)
10pm – Scandal (ABC)
Review (Comedy Central) [Series Premiere]
Vikings (History)

Friday, February 28
10pm – Hannibal (NBC)
Legit (FXX)
The Red Road (Sundance)

 

MARCH

Monday, March 3

9pm – Bates Motel (A&E)

Thursday, March 6

9pm – Suits (USA)
10pm – Sirens (USA) [Series Premiere]

Sunday, March 9
8pm – Once Upon a Time (ABC)
9pm – Resurrection (ABC) [Series Premiere]
10pm – Revenge (ABC)

Monday, March 11
10pm – Mind Games (ABC)

Wednesday, March 19
9pm – The 100 (The CW) [Series Premiere]

Friday, March 21
8pm – Whose Line Is It Anyway? (The CW)

Sunday, March 30
8pm – Call the Midwife (PBS)
9pm – Mr. Selfridge (PBS)

Monday, March 31
9pm – Friends With Better Lives (CBS) [Series Premiere]
Those Who Kill (A&E)

APRIL

Tuesday, April 1
9pm – The Mindy Project (Fox)
10:30pm – Inside Amy Schumer (Comedy Central)

Wednesday, April 2
10:30pm – TripTank (Comedy Central)

kick-ass tv chick

Saturday, April 19
9pm – Orphan Black (BBC America)

 

What shows will you be watching this season?

Previous post

Chick Flicks: January 3-31

Next post

New THE WALKING DEAD Season 4 Poster

The Author

Kristal Bailey

Kristal Bailey

With a soft spot for movies that fall into the “So Bad They’re Good” category, Kristal Bailey regularly watches B-movies, 80s comedies, and sci-fi from the 50s and 60s. She also refuses to grow up if that means she has to hide her love for Disney and Pixar films.

In her free time, she enjoys reading graphic novels or books that are soon to be turned into movies, watching hours and hours of television, and spending way too much time on Twitter.